Published By: - Logo

Northampton County, Virginia

Quick Facts:

Northampton County is the southern most county on Virginia’s Eastern Shore. It was originally part of Accomack County, which was the entire Eastern Shore of Virginia. In 1642 that name was changed to Northampton. The area was split into two counties in 1663 with the southern county keeping the name Northampton.

Founded: 1634
County Seat: Eastville

Total Area: 795 Square Miles
Land: 207 Square Miles
Water: 588 Square Miles

2000 Population: 12,389. This is down slightly from 2000 at 13,093

Incorporated Towns – Year of Incorporation
Cape Charles – 1886
Cheriton – 1951
Eastville – 1896
Exmore – 1950
Nassawadox – 1958